Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

The 13th Gate Asylum - UNFORESEEN Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 1975 Lockwood St.
  • Oxnard, CA
  • 8053282405
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
Adults and any child over the age of 13
Organization Type
Charity / NOT For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Haunted Mazes / Haunted Corn Mazes
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified Wow!!

    From the moment of parking, the experience begins! Creepy actors are roaming the parking lot and waiting line! The line wait is well worth the experience! The moment you enter the haunted maze you are involved with an exciting, engaging and frightening experience! The unexpected definitely hits you moment by moment! I wasn’t sure where to go next and several times petrified, not sure what to do next! One of the best parts was never feeling rushed to “just get through” the maze. The actors really let you/make you experience their rooms to the full effect! If your looking for something fantastic to do with your teenagers, for date night, or to hang with friends... this is the place to come for your Halloween experience!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified The best ever

    The best haunted maze ever. I will go again

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Great Haunt

    I’ve been to so many haunts before and this place really did surprise me. Where they lack in decor, they excel in performance. Their performers do an excellent job of creating a special experience. When places like Universal charge about 100$ for hours of waiting in line, this place at 20$ is totally worth it when comparing value per cost.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great Action and Effects

    Great actors and effects. Don’t wanna spoil anything but it was so fun! I like how I didn’t have to go in a big group.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Best haunted house in my hometown

    This haunted house was worth the $25 because it was very memorable and they had a lot of scary rooms with different themes, I was immersed with each room as a main character with no one else but me & my boyfriend. I had a good time. All the actors were great!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Best Haunt this year hands down!

    This haunted house was probably the best maze I've been to in years! I go to horror nights, the Queen Mary, and reign of terror every year and I think I had a better experience here then all the rest. Employees and actors were nice, thoughtful, entertaining, scary, relentless, dedicated, terrifying, funny, awful in a good way, annoying in the best way, and just really fun! Go here, have fun, don't drive 2 hours to LA and spend $100 on a ticket when you can hit good local haunts like this for $20 bucks. Keep up the good work and Halloween spirit you freaks!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified awesome haunt

    I have been involved in the Halloween haunt industry for about 12 years. I have been to all the major SoCal haunts and worked at one for 8 years. This was an amazing haunt. The sets were amazing. The scares were fantastic. The actors were so good at not breaking character and working together to get good scares. I actually got scared a few times which usually doesn’t happen! I genuinely enjoyed it and will be going again! I

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Wow!!

    From the moment of parking, the experience begins! Creepy actors are roaming the parking lot and waiting line! The line wait is well worth the experience! The moment you enter the haunted maze you are involved with an exciting, engaging and frightening experience! The unexpected definitely hits you moment by moment! I wasn’t sure where to go next and several times petrified, not sure what to do next! One of the best parts was never feeling rushed to “just get through” the maze. The actors really let you/make you experience their rooms to the full effect! If your looking for something fantastic to do with your teenagers, for date night, or to hang with friends... this is the place to come for your Halloween experience!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified The best ever

    The best haunted maze ever. I will go again

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Great Haunt

    I’ve been to so many haunts before and this place really did surprise me. Where they lack in decor, they excel in performance. Their performers do an excellent job of creating a special experience. When places like Universal charge about 100$ for hours of waiting in line, this place at 20$ is totally worth it when comparing value per cost.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great Action and Effects

    Great actors and effects. Don’t wanna spoil anything but it was so fun! I like how I didn’t have to go in a big group.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Best haunted house in my hometown

    This haunted house was worth the $25 because it was very memorable and they had a lot of scary rooms with different themes, I was immersed with each room as a main character with no one else but me & my boyfriend. I had a good time. All the actors were great!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Best Haunt this year hands down!

    This haunted house was probably the best maze I've been to in years! I go to horror nights, the Queen Mary, and reign of terror every year and I think I had a better experience here then all the rest. Employees and actors were nice, thoughtful, entertaining, scary, relentless, dedicated, terrifying, funny, awful in a good way, annoying in the best way, and just really fun! Go here, have fun, don't drive 2 hours to LA and spend $100 on a ticket when you can hit good local haunts like this for $20 bucks. Keep up the good work and Halloween spirit you freaks!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified awesome haunt

    I have been involved in the Halloween haunt industry for about 12 years. I have been to all the major SoCal haunts and worked at one for 8 years. This was an amazing haunt. The sets were amazing. The scares were fantastic. The actors were so good at not breaking character and working together to get good scares. I actually got scared a few times which usually doesn’t happen! I genuinely enjoyed it and will be going again! I

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified OMG MUST GO

    Me and my boyfriend love scary stuff, we are always at horror nights and fright fest but have NEVER gotten more scared than coming here. This exceeded our expectations!! We are definitely coming again and again ! I can’t stop talking about this ! I even showed the girl at in n out our picture and convinced her to go out to this because this was scary asf !

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Scary AF

    Came here with my hubby and it was so amazingly scary. Lots of different scenarios and the actors were very talented. Highly recommend this scary maze/house.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Fantastic

    Best haunted house I’ve been to. We went with kids from 7 to 16 and each one of them absolutely loved it, even though they were scared to death the majority of the time. My son, the 7 year old, even asked if we could go again next weekend... YES we are definitely going again. ??

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Best Haunted House!!!

    Every year their haunted houses get better! It’s crazy how awesome it is!!! Love it!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • The scariest haunted house yet!

    We went through this years “unforeseen “ last Saturday and my voice is still horse from screaming! I’ve been to many haunted houses and this was the best for sure. Every room is different so you don’t have any idea what to expect. We plan to go again!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Ventura county haunt with real soul

    We saw this haunt while driving down the 101 and made time to drop by. They gave it a hell of a go. They kept us guessing and was a go thrill from start to finish. A+ to the Actors no one ever broke character even when I tried. I Highly Recomend

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 21-30 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • A definate must see!

    Super creepy!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • 13th gate Asylum

    Great!! All cast were amazing! Very scary!! Will definitely recommend and go again

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Wow

    Happened to stumble on this haught as we were eating across the freeway at Red Lobster. It mimics itself as close as I can tell to the big box haunts down in LA but without the drive. Seriously scary with surprises around every turn. Our crew is definitely going back. Not a bad price for the scares you get. Great job on creativity!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Unparalleled!!!

    A voodoo experience unparalleled. I was there last night with my family. It was a long wait in the lines. The actors made sure we were entertained outside. Never made us feel bored. We could feel the excitement while waiting outside. The attractions were quite organized well. The maze was 15,000 sq ft of wonderland. The house was amazing. It takes forward the voodoo theme and had us enthralled. The actors had tons of tricks up their sleeves. Definitely recommend this place and we are coming back

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted February 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Highly entertaining!!

    Fun thing to do. Really entertaining. This is my favorite haunted house and is reasonably priced. We had a great experience; the scare actors were fantastic in their jobs and over all set-up looks very creepy and spooky.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted January 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Good actors, sub-par makeup, one great scare.

    Overall, it was alright. There was a lot of nothing between scares. I felt like the actors did a pretty good job and there were a couple of cool props but, there was a lot of nothing that could have been filled with prime scares. Lots of missed opportunities to scare the daylights out of people. There was one scare that got me and it was the train scare. I've seen this type of scare used in other haunts but, usually just with lighting effects. When the train actually starts coming towards you, your fight or flight brain kicks into overdrive. There was a really cool coffin ride outside the attraction which definitely added to the experience for me. My biggest disappointment is that they take a picture during the big train scare but, they posted harly any f the pictures to their website. I asked before we left the haunted and they assured us that our picture would be up the next day. It's been more than a month and they still haven't posted any of the scare cam photos taken after the 19th of October. There's also no way to contact them to try and get those photos, listed on their website. It was a fun evening, in the end but, not nearly worth the $25 per person price tag.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted December 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Perfect timings

    We crapped our pants. Amazing thriller times!!! The actors were timed perfectly and fit into the setting very well. Looking forward for the next year.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Sooo goodddd....

    The best maze by far. It was challenging and quite big…over 15,000 square foot!!! There were a variety of entertaining/ghoulish activities to partake in Voodoo House. I found the details to be interesting. Soooooooo gooooood!!! Looking forward to visiting again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Great fun

    Very creative, train was great.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified soooo fun!

    would definitely go again! ????

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • I cried the whole way!!

    All I can say is WOW! I was deft scared the whole way. I think I clenched my nails into my boyfriends back a few times! Deft check it out. This is deft scary I screamed my lungs out ! Costume and make up on point.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Haunt enthusiasts this is your place...

    We are a group of haunt enthusiasts who have visited quite a lot of haunts over the years. This one got our adrenaline pumping really fast. It was like being in a voodoo carnival. The setting is such that you get to feel the intense presence of voodoo all around you. We had a challenging and confusing maze experience. The actors were great. They were able to pull a professional quality scare with ease. It was really a wonderful evening and we like to come back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Wonderful moments

    It was a beautiful haunting time. Love to be scared and the attractions did the trick.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Unimpressed

    2/3 of your time is spent walking in the dark, nothing to look at. There are people randomly running in the opposite direction as you walk through, not even in costume, to scare us? Lol VERY lame for $25.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awsome haunt

    Great maze Great actors Great effects Great makeup

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Got my adrenaline pumping!

    Took my 23 year old niece with me and we were both scared, this attraction is great! Would do this again every Halloween- but once is enough for this year. It is a bit pricey, but glad it’s going to a great cause.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 21-30 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Worth the drive & money

    Avid haunt enthusiast. Have to be honest and say this one surprised me. The scare actors are top notch and the production design concept is well planned out. Interesting that they change their theme and maze yearly. I will be back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great Haunted House

    Had a great time. Shouldn’t have had that burrito before going, nearly soiled my pants from being so scared.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Stupefying scares

    WOW!! Had a good scary fun time with nieces. It had voodoo magic and tricks in place at every turn. The maze was quite big. You will get to feel it is never ending and the scares were amazing.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Loved It

    Have been to many of these. The actors were great with awesome make-up and a great, totally disorienting haunted maze. Will totally do this one again before it closes.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Awesome scare

    Really awesome all around!!! Scare actors are professional and amazing. Honestly very scary and much better than any of the standard amusement park haunts. Going to go again before it's over for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified My family had a good time!

    This attraction is really good for the whole family and in my opinion is not too scary for younger kids. There were some cool elements/set designs within the maze and the actors get super into their roles. You can tell they put a lot of effort into making this and I’m sure it will get better and better over the next few years. The $25 price tag is pretty steep for the quality of the maze though. The haunted house in Thousand Oaks at the Janss Mall is the same price and much more elaborate. Still the money for this maze goes to a good cause and I’m all for supporting these local events!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Don’t take your wife

    Definitely a fun one. This was good and I recommend everyone goes.This is good for teen to take their friends.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified I LOVE cheap thrills

    The best haunted house I’ve ever been to. I HATE scary things and I survived. I was smiling, laughing, and screaming the whole way through. The actors had great costumes and makeup and did their part to make the haunted house what it is. Every detail was well thought out. From the costumes to the props to the makeup to the sound effects. Very well done.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 11-20 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Great time!

    Amazing they scare you so well!! It's a perfect level of scary but not too scary so that everyone can have a great time!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • So crazy SCARY!

    SO GOOD!!!I went on the Opening weekend (Saturday night) , the cool thing about it is that every group that goes through has their own experience. The different rooms and scare actors combined with the special effects made for one of the best haunts I've ever been to!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Best haunted house!!!

    There are some of the best scare actors around at the haunted house. The FX makeup is incredible. The design and layout of the maze is something I’ve never seen before. By far the best/ most professional haunt I’ve ever been to.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Terrified!!

    Scary and terrifying!! The monster looking actors are very careful to small kids that don't want to be too scared; but they never miss those teens who act like they don't want to be scared.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Best Haunt Around!

    We were surprised by this haunt. Our group are haunt enthusiast and this one is a MUST see. Professional haunt with quality scare-actors. Heard that Saturday nights are the best night to go so we did. They had scare-actors working the line and they were good. You could hear people screaming in the maze that made the anticipation better while standing in line. There are lots of surprises in the maze that will catch you off guard. We will be back before it ends because we heard they change their theme each year and we want to experience it one more time.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Opening night

    I went on opening night. It was a great haunt, set up with awesome themes, visuals, and rooms. It was really impressive. A lot of the actors in scary costumes were not that lively, maybe because it was the first night.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Fantastic special effects..

    We were there on a Sunday night and it was quite crowded. It took us a while to enter the haunt. The maze had intense and interactive scares. Voodoo magic and tricks were there in plenty. Too many wrong turns got us confusing. The actors did make matters worse. They were on a great makeover. It made them look the part they portrayed. You would shudder at the sight. Special effects played a great role. The loud noise managed to make me jump. Love coming back next fall.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

The 13th Gate Asylum - UNFORESEEN
Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Optional
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?